Day 28 - My Work Schedule



Welcome to Day #28 of the 31 Days to Better Branding series! To learn more about this series, click here to find links to the other days so you'll be able to follow along or catch up if you happen to miss anything. I am by no means an expert but after hearing a lot of the same questions, I figured others could benefit from a few lessons in branding. Hopefully it will give you a place to begin or even just a few tips to improve your business and bring you more clients. Feel free to add in your thoughts and what has worked for you in the comments!

Just as a heads up, I changed the schedule up a little and we are jumping right into week 5 (Making it Work). I love that you all have been sending me questions and things you'd like to know. After reading them, I thought I'd go ahead and devote a day at the end to answering you - On Day 31, I'll take all of those great questions and answer them in a post where everyone can benefit, so keep those questions coming.

By far the #1 question I've been getting is about my schedule and how I make it work with a husband and young kids. So today I'll let you in on what my day looks like and maybe it will help you get ideas on how you can be efficient with your own schedule.

Okay about my day...I am blessed to be able to stay home with my kids and I think of raising them, teaching them, and playing with them as my most important job during the day. In my mind, having a clean house and the perfect business should always come second to spending time with them. There are definitely days where I just have to be okay with not getting everything done that I want to, but that's just the phase of life that I'm in right now. I'm sure when they are grown and moved out of the house, my home will look sparkly and I'll bake all the time...or not haha.

I see my work time as almost a hobby. I love to design and work on business stuff. It's a refresher for me, so I'm able to do that while they are napping/in preschool instead of needing a nap myself or watching shows. I'm also not able to fit in much exercising (too bad:)) but I try to do a lot of active play with my toddlers will take the place of weights for now. I could probably wake up earlier and work out but I just don't right now. Maybe someday.

Here are the basics of my average weekday...

6:00 - Hubby leaves for work, Devos & 1 hour of social media (schedule posts) and answering urgent emails

7:30 - Littles up for the day, breakfast

8:00 - Go hour: throw dishes in washer, laundry in washer, quick pick up house, get everyone dressed, simple hair & makeup

9:00 - 9:30 One little to preschool, playtime or craft with the other

9:30 - 11:30 Morning nap for little one, I work in the office - blog, design or business details depending on the day

11:30 - 12:30 - Pick up little from school & lunch, I might check in on social media while making lunch

12:30 - 2:00 Playtime or outside time with kids, switch laundry loads

2:00 - 4:00 - Afternoon nap for little one, the other watches a show or quiet playtime with me. Sometimes I can answer emails, read blogs/research

4:00 - Run errands or hang out time with hubby if he's just getting home

5:30 - Make dinner, kids help or play nearby (I watch online workshop or listen to podcasts while I cook if kids are having daddy time)

6:00 - 7:30 - Eat dinner, clean up toys, kids bath, bedtime routine (teeth, read, sing, bed), quick pick up house

7:30 on - shower, relax, hang out with hubby, fold laundry with shows

*Extra work time - 

Once a week a relative usually takes the kids for a couple hours so I can work/run errands

Twice a week my husband has an evening so I can catch up on cleaning, friends, or plan events for the business once kids are in bed